This is an EG4 inverter/charger built around a 48V battery bank, delivering 12000 Watt continuous output on 120/240VAC split-phase power. It's intended for buyers assembling a hybrid solar/battery backup system who need a code-compliant, UL-recognized inverter core.
Architecture: this is an inverter/charger designed for battery-based backup applications with 48V DC input and 120/240VAC split-phase output. The source manufacturer text supplied for this listing described a related bundle product (EG4 18kPV ESS bundle) rather than this standalone SKU in detail, so several specs below are flagged as unverified rather than assumed. Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
Critical Power & Interconnection Requirements
- AC Output: 120/240VAC split-phase
- Battery DC Input: 48V
- Continuous AC Output: 12000 Watt
- Surge/Peak AC Output: [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not provided in source data
- PV Input / MPPT Range: [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not provided in source data
- NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks
- NOT confirmed for grid sell-back — treat as backup/hybrid use only until manufacturer documentation confirms interconnection mode
Split-phase 120/240V inverter/chargers rated for 48V banks are frequently miswired on neutral-ground bonding when moving between a mobile chassis and a fixed residential subpanel — this is the single most common source of nuisance GFCI trips and failed inspections on this class of equipment. Before energizing, verify the bonding point with a Digital Multimeter checking for unintended neutral-ground continuity downstream of the main disconnect, and confirm it against the single bonding point required by NEC Article 690/706 for stationary installations. Document the bonding jumper location and torque values in your commissioning notes, since inspectors will ask for it on a re-inspection.
Key Benefits
- 12000 Watt continuous output on a 48V battery platform, sized for whole-home backup loads
- 120/240VAC split-phase output supports standard US residential panel configurations
- EG4 brand hardware, consistent with the broader EG4 ecosystem of batteries and accessories
- USA-based manufacturer support referenced in source documentation for install and troubleshooting guidance
Technical Table
| Spec | Value | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous AC Output | 12000 | W |
| AC Output Voltage | 120/240 | V split-phase |
| DC Battery Voltage | 48 | V |
| Surge AC Output | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] | |
| PV Input Capacity (Max W) | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] | |
| MPPT Range | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] | |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
Compatibility & Fitment
- Designed for 48V DC battery bank input — NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks
- Battery chemistry compatibility: [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in source data for this SKU
- Closed-loop communication with specific battery brands: [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in source data for this SKU
- Parallel/stacking capability: [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in source data for this SKU
- Grid sell-back: NOT confirmed capable based on available data — do not represent as a grid-tie sell-back inverter until verified
Compliance & Environment Table
| Listing/Standard | Applies To |
|---|---|
| UL 1973 | Referenced in source text for a related EG4 18kPV ESS bundle product — Recognized Component; not confirmed for this standalone SKU |
| UL 9540A | Referenced as "passed" for the related EG4 18kPV-12LV bundle in source text — this is a system-level ESS test result, not applicable to a standalone inverter |
| UL 9540 | Referenced as "Listed with 18kPV-12LV" bundle in source text — applies to the certified battery+inverter system combination, NOT to this standalone inverter/charger unit alone |
| NEMA Enclosure Rating | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
FAQ
Can this inverter sell power back to the grid?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — grid sell-back capability is not stated in the source data for this SKU.
What battery voltage is required?
This unit is built for a 48V DC battery bank. It is NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
Can I parallel multiple units together?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — stacking/parallel limits are not specified in the source data for this SKU.
Is this UL 1741 listed for utility interconnection?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — UL 1741 listing is not confirmed in the source data for this specific SKU (EG418KPV12LV). The source text references UL 1973, UL 9540A, and UL 9540 for a related bundle product, but those listings apply to system-level ESS bundles, not confirmed for this standalone inverter/charger.
Warranty & Registration
Source manufacturer text references a "10-Year Warranty" and a "lifetime, USA-based support team" for the related EG4 18kPV ESS bundle product. Whether identical warranty terms apply to this standalone SKU (EG418KPV12LV) is [NEEDS VERIFICATION]. Confirm registration steps and warranty start date via the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above before purchase. Ask us before you order if warranty terms for this specific configuration matter to your decision — we always reply back.