The ETHOS is a 48V LiFePO4 home battery built for off-grid and backup storage. This listing covers the 10.24kWh, 2-module configuration under SKU K0948-V.
Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
Field Notes: What This Battery Is For
The ETHOS is a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) battery, built as a 48V home storage unit — not a golf cart, RV, or marine deep-cycle battery. It carries UL1973 (battery safety) and UL9540A (thermal runaway / energy storage system safety) certification, which matters if you're pulling permits for a home installation or working with an inspector who wants documentation on file. The Ah, Wh, BMS current limits, cycle life, dimensions, and weight for this specific unit are not included in the source data provided to us; we've flagged those below rather than guess.
Battery Characteristics
- Chemistry: LiFePO4 (Lithium Iron Phosphate)
- Nominal Voltage: 48V
- Rated Capacity: 10.24 kWh
- Configuration: 2-module stack (per product name)
- Certifications: UL1973, UL9540A
- BMS Discharge/Charge Limits: [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- Peak Discharge: [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- Low-Temperature Charging Protection: [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- Cycle Life: [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
Wiring & Configuration Limits
Series and parallel expansion limits for the ETHOS module are not specified in the data provided for this listing. Before you stack additional modules or wire multiple ETHOS units together, confirm the maximum series and parallel count with BigBattery's documentation on the Resources tab. Do not assume compatibility with other 48V lithium products, lead-acid banks, or golf cart/marine batteries — mixing chemistries or battery ages in one bank is not supported and can cause imbalance or BMS lockout.
NOT compatible with: lead-acid, AGM, or Gel battery banks in the same string; use as a starter/cranking battery; wiring in series or parallel beyond BigBattery's published limits (limits not provided in this data set — verify before installing).
Pro-Installer Tip
Charging any LiFePO4 pack below freezing without internal heating or a cold-weather disconnect damages the cells — lithium plating occurs on the anode during cold charge cycles, and that damage is permanent, not something you can charge your way out of. This is why cold-temp charging protection specs matter enough to confirm before commissioning a system in an unheated garage, shed, or outdoor enclosure. Prevent this by verifying the ETHOS module's low-temp charge cutoff (see Resources tab) and, in cold climates, keeping the battery in a temperature-controlled space or adding heating if BigBattery's spec sheet calls for it. Use a shunt-based battery monitor to track real-time voltage, current, and temperature rather than guessing from the inverter display. As a professional standard, LiFePO4 systems like this one are typically designed for 80–100% depth of discharge — but confirm the exact DoD spec for this SKU in the manufacturer documentation before setting your inverter's cutoff voltage.
Key Benefits
- LiFePO4 chemistry — no liquid electrolyte to spill, no periodic watering like flooded lead-acid.
- UL1973 and UL9540A certification supports permitting and inspection requirements for home energy storage installs.
- 48V nominal platform designed for home/off-grid backup rather than starter or cranking applications.
- Modular 2-module build (10.24kWh) allows for a defined, quotable capacity per unit.
Technical Table
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Voltage | 48V |
| Capacity (kWh) | 10.24 kWh |
| Capacity (Ah) | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Chemistry | LiFePO4 |
| Certifications | UL1973, UL9540A |
| Max Continuous Discharge (A) | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Max Continuous Charge (A) | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Peak Discharge | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Cycle Life | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Operating Temp Range | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Dimensions | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Terminal Type | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
| Weight | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
Compatibility & Fitment
The ETHOS is designed for home and off-grid battery backup applications on a 48V platform. It is not designed for golf cart propulsion, marine/RV house or starter use, or vehicle cranking applications. Charging requirements, including specific charger/inverter compatibility and low-temperature charge cutoffs, are not detailed in the data provided for this SKU — confirm charger compatibility against BigBattery's documentation before purchase or installation. Do not use a standard lead-acid charger on this battery unless BigBattery's documentation explicitly confirms compatibility.
NOT included: charger, inverter, mounting hardware, or cables (unless separately listed as part of a kit SKU — this listing covers K0948-V only).
Options & SKUs
| Variant | SKU | Price (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| variable parent (6 variations) | K0948-V | 2405.00 |
The manufacturer data indicates this product has 6 variations available; only the base SKU and price (K0948-V, $2405.00) were provided to us. Ask us before you order if you need pricing or specs on a specific module count or capacity variant not shown here.
FAQ
Is the ETHOS a starter or cranking battery?
No. The ETHOS is built for home and off-grid battery backup storage, not for starting or cranking a vehicle or vessel engine.
Can I mix this battery with lead-acid batteries in the same bank?
No. Mixing LiFePO4 with lead-acid, AGM, or Gel batteries in the same bank is not supported and can cause imbalance or damage.
What certifications does the ETHOS carry?
The ETHOS carries UL1973 and UL9540A certification.
What is the cycle life and BMS discharge limit for this battery?
Those specifications were not included in the manufacturer data provided for this listing. Please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications, or ask us before you order.
Does this battery have cold-weather charging protection?
This was not specified in the data available for this SKU. Confirm cold-weather charge protection details in the manufacturer documentation before installing in an unheated space.
Warranty & Support
Warranty terms for the ETHOS are documented in the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page. If you can't find what you need there, ask us before you order — we always reply back.