The Growatt 3K is a 48V inverter/charger with an integrated MPPT solar charge controller and automatic AC transfer switch, built for off-grid cabins, backup power setups, and mid-sized residential solar systems.
The Growatt 3K combines a pure sine wave inverter, MPPT solar charge controller, and automatic AC transfer switch in one unit. Manufacturer data describes it as configurable for off-grid or solar-input-priority operation, with joint PV and grid load support — architecture details point toward an off-grid/hybrid-charging design rather than a standalone grid-tie inverter. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]: Manufacturer data does not specify whether this unit supports grid-tie/sell-back operation or list any UL/IEEE interconnection certifications. Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
- DC Battery Voltage: 48V systems only. Not compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
- AC Output Voltage/Phase: Split-phase and 3-phase output supported when 6 units are paralleled. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]: exact single-unit AC output voltage (e.g., 120V or 120/240V) not stated in manufacturer data.
- Continuous AC Output / Surge AC Output: Not specified in manufacturer data. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- PV Input Voltage: Described only as "High PV Input Voltage." Exact MPPT voltage window and max PV input wattage not provided. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- Does NOT include confirmed UL 1741 or IEEE 1547 listing in the source data — do not assume utility interconnection approval without verification.
- Does NOT specify grid sell-back capability.
- Integrated MPPT charge controller paired with an integrated AC transfer switch in a single chassis.
- Configurable off-grid or solar-input-priority operation for flexible energy management.
- CAN/RS485 protocol support for closed-loop BMS communication.
- WiFi remote monitoring via companion app and dongle.
- Equalization charging function and flexible charge/discharge scheduling.
- In-depth LCD display for charging status and fault indicators.
| Spec | Value | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| DC Battery Voltage | 48 | V |
| Max Parallel Expansion | 18 | kW (6 units) |
| Output Phase Configuration | 3-Phase & Split-Phase | — |
| Charge Controller Type | MPPT (Integrated) | — |
| BMS Communication | CAN/RS485 | Protocol |
| Remote Monitoring | WiFi | — |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
- Compatible with 48V battery systems, including residential solar, mid-sized off-grid, cabin, and small camper applications.
- Closed-loop BMS communication supported via CAN/RS485 protocols. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]: specific battery brands validated for closed-loop comms not listed in manufacturer data.
- Parallel-scalable up to 18kW output using 6 units in 3-phase or split-phase configuration.
- NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
- WiFi monitoring requires the Growatt dongle/app; connectivity hardware inclusion is not itemized separately in source data. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- Does NOT list confirmed grid sell-back or utility export capability in manufacturer data.
| Listing/Code | Applicability |
|---|---|
| UL 1741 | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not stated in manufacturer data |
| IEEE 1547 | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not stated in manufacturer data |
| NEMA Enclosure Rating | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not stated in manufacturer data |
| NEC Article Reference | Applicable articles (e.g., 690/705) depend on installation type; confirm with AHJ |
FAQ
Can this inverter sell power back to the grid?
Grid sell-back capability is not specified in manufacturer data for this unit. Do not assume grid export functionality without verification.
What battery voltage is required?
This inverter is built for 48V battery systems. It is not compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
Can I parallel multiple units together?
Yes. The Growatt 3K is expandable up to 18kW with 3-phase and split-phase output configurations, requiring 6 units.
Is this UL 1741 listed for utility interconnection?
UL 1741 listing status is not provided in manufacturer data. Confirm listing status with BigBattery before relying on this unit for utility interconnection.
Warranty & Registration: Manufacturer warranty terms, registration process, and coverage period are not included in the provided data. [NEEDS VERIFICATION] Refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page for warranty documentation, or contact BigBattery directly before purchase if warranty terms are a deciding factor.