This is a 12kW-class Sol-Ark hybrid solar inverter paired with an EMP hardening kit, built for homeowners who want backup power plus added protection against electromagnetic pulse events. It runs on a 48V battery bank and outputs 120/240VAC split-phase power for standard home circuits.
Architecture: this is a hybrid inverter (grid-tie with battery backup capability), not an off-grid-only unit and not a standalone battery charger. It operates at 48VDC nominal battery voltage and outputs 120/240VAC split-phase. The base platform carries UL 1741 SB, UL 1741 SA, UL 1741 CRD-PCS, and IEEE 1547.1-2020 listings, which are the standards utilities reference for interconnection approval. Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
Important sourcing note: The manufacturer specification text supplied for this listing was corrupted in transmission — labels and numeric values in the source spec table are misaligned across multiple inverter models and cannot be reliably matched to this specific SKU. Rather than estimate or guess which number belongs to which spec, we've limited the technical claims below to what could be confidently identified, and flagged the rest for verification. Contact us before ordering if you need confirmed continuous/surge output figures for this exact EMP-hardened configuration.
Critical Power & Interconnection Requirements
- AC Output: 120/240VAC split-phase (also referenced as 120/208V in source data for certain configurations) [NEEDS VERIFICATION on which applies to this SKU]
- DC Battery Voltage: 48V nominal, with an operating range referenced in source data as 43–59V [NEEDS VERIFICATION on exact range for this SKU]
- Continuous AC Output and Surge/Peak Output figures could not be reliably isolated from the corrupted source table for this specific SKU — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- PV Input: multiple MPPT inputs referenced in source data; exact voltage window and max PV input wattage could not be reliably matched to this SKU — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- This unit does NOT operate on 12V or 24V battery banks.
- This is NOT a standalone off-grid-only inverter — it is a hybrid platform with grid interconnection capability, so it requires utility coordination where grid-tied.
- This is NOT a Chargeverter (AC-to-DC charging only unit) — it performs full inverter/charger functions.
- UL 9540 (system-level ESS certification) is NOT claimed for this standalone inverter listing — it applies only to certified battery+inverter system combinations, not the inverter alone.
EMP-hardening retrofits introduce a common field friction point: added surge suppression and shielding components on the DC and AC conductors can shift ground-neutral bonding assumptions the inverter was originally configured for, especially when the kit is installed after the inverter's initial commissioning. Verify neutral-ground bonding configuration (main panel vs. sub-panel, per your interconnection type) after the EMP kit is installed — not before — since re-bonding after kit installation prevents nuisance ground-fault trip codes and protects against parasitic leakage currents that can degrade battery SOC readings over time. Confirm bonding integrity with a megohmmeter insulation resistance test on both PV and battery conductors before final commissioning. This step supports compliance with NEC Article 690 (PV systems) and NEC Article 706 (energy storage systems) grounding requirements, and it's worth documenting for your utility interconnection inspection file.
Key Benefits
- Hybrid architecture supports both grid-tied backup and battery-based resilience in one platform.
- EMP hardening kit adds protection layer against electromagnetic pulse events — relevant for critical-load or grid-resilience-focused installations.
- 48VDC battery architecture is compatible with common residential ESS battery banks at that voltage.
- UL 1741 SB/SA/CRD-PCS and IEEE 1547.1-2020 listings support utility interconnection approval in jurisdictions that require them.
| Spec | Value | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| DC Battery Voltage (Nominal) | 48 | VDC |
| AC Output Voltage | 120/240 | VAC (split-phase) |
| UL Listings | UL 1741 SB, UL 1741 SA, UL 1741 CRD-PCS, UL 1699B, UL 1998, CSA C22.2 107.1-16 | — |
| IEEE Listing | IEEE 1547.1-2020 | — |
| Continuous AC Output | [NEEDS VERIFICATION — not reliably extractable from source data for this SKU] | |
| Surge/Peak AC Output | [NEEDS VERIFICATION — not reliably extractable from source data for this SKU] | |
| PV MPPT Voltage Range | [NEEDS VERIFICATION — not reliably extractable from source data for this SKU] | |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
Compatibility & Fitment
- Compatible with 48VDC nominal battery banks only.
- NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
- Supported battery chemistries and closed-loop communication brand list are not specified in the provided source data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION].
- AC output format: 120/240VAC split-phase, intended for standard North American residential electrical service.
- This is a hybrid inverter — it is NOT a Chargeverter and does NOT function as an AC-to-DC-only battery charger.
- Parallel/stacking capability for this specific EMP-hardened SKU is NOT confirmed in source data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION].
- WiFi/monitoring hardware inclusion for this specific SKU is NOT confirmed in source data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION].
Compliance & Environment
| Listing/Standard | Applicability |
|---|---|
| UL 1741 SB | Utility interconnection safety listing (base inverter platform) |
| UL 1741 SA | Utility interconnection safety listing (base inverter platform) |
| UL 1741 CRD-PCS | Power conversion system certification requirement document |
| IEEE 1547.1-2020 | Interconnection testing standard for distributed energy resources |
| UL 1699B | DC arc-fault circuit protection |
| UL 1998 | Software safety for programmable components |
| CSA C22.2 107.1-16 | Canadian safety standard for power conversion equipment |
| UL 9540 | NOT applicable — this is a standalone inverter listing, not a certified system-level ESS (battery+inverter) combination |
FAQ
Can this inverter sell power back to the grid?
The Sol-Ark hybrid inverter platform supports grid interaction including NEM/grid sell in compatible utility configurations. Confirm specific grid sell-back capability and utility interconnection agreement requirements with your installer before assuming this feature applies to your setup. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
What battery voltage is required?
This unit requires a 48VDC battery bank. It is NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
Can I parallel multiple units together?
Parallel stacking limits for this specific EMP-hardened configuration are not specified in available manufacturer data. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
Is this UL 1741 listed for utility interconnection?
Yes. The underlying Sol-Ark inverter platform carries UL 1741 SB, UL 1741 SA, and UL 1741 CRD-PCS listings, along with IEEE 1547.1-2020 compliance, which utilities reference for interconnection approval.
Does the EMP hardening kit change the electrical specifications of the inverter?
The manufacturer data provided does not detail how the EMP hardening kit modifies (if at all) the base inverter's electrical ratings. Treat continuous/surge output figures as belonging to the base platform until confirmed. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
Warranty & Registration
Manufacturer warranty terms specific to this EMP-hardened SKU are not clearly isolated in the provided source data — the source text references a general standard warranty figure that could not be reliably confirmed for this exact configuration. [NEEDS VERIFICATION] Register your product and review full warranty terms through the manufacturer's resources. Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.