The EG4 12kPV is a hybrid solar inverter built for split-phase homes and shops running on battery backup with solar charging. It's a fit for owners who want grid-tied solar with battery backup in one enclosure, rather than piecing together separate charge controllers and inverters.
This is a hybrid inverter architecture — meaning it is designed for grid-tied installations with battery backup capability, as distinct from an off-grid-only unit or a chargeverter (AC-to-DC charger only). Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — The manufacturer data supplied for this listing does not include UL/IEEE safety listings, battery DC voltage, MPPT voltage window, surge output rating, or NEMA enclosure rating. These specifications are required for a complete installation and interconnection review and should be confirmed via the Resources tab or manufacturer documentation before purchase.
Critical Power & Interconnection Requirements
- AC Output: Split-Phase configuration (exact voltage, e.g., 120/240V, not specified in source data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]).
- Continuous AC Output: 8kW.
- PV Input Capacity: up to 12kW (12kPV), across 3 MPPT channels.
- Surge/Peak AC Output: not specified in source data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]. Do not assume surge rating equals continuous rating.
- DC Battery Voltage: not specified in source data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION].
- Does NOT include confirmed UL 1741 or IEEE 1547 listing in the data provided — utility interconnection approval must be confirmed with your installer and utility before relying on this unit for grid-tie service.
- Remote monitoring is via Wi-Fi per title data; no statement of included Wi-Fi module hardware in the body data — confirm before install.
On split-phase hybrid inverters like this one, a common failure point is neutral-ground bonding conflicts between the inverter's internal bonding and a home's main panel bonding — leading to nuisance GFCI trips or failed inspection. Before energizing, verify bonding configuration with a digital multimeter checking for unintended neutral-to-ground continuity downstream of the inverter, and correct per NEC Article 690/705 requirements for your interconnection type. Confirm your AHJ's rapid shutdown requirements are met before requesting a final utility interconnection inspection. Because this unit's exact battery voltage and MPPT window are not published in the data reviewed, verify these figures against the manufacturer spec sheet in the Resources tab before final commissioning — mismatched DC input assumptions are a frequent cause of fault codes on first startup.
Key Benefits
- 3-MPPT design supports multiple PV strings with independent tracking (specific voltage windows not published — see Resources tab).
- 12kW PV input capacity paired with 8kW continuous AC output gives headroom for oversized solar arrays.
- Split-phase AC output for standard North American 120/240V-style loads (exact voltage figure not in source data — confirm before ordering for your service type).
- Described as scalable — designed to expand system capacity (exact parallel/stacking unit limits not specified in source data).
- Remote Wi-Fi monitoring capability referenced in product title.
Technical Table
| Spec | Value | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous AC Output | 8 | kW |
| PV Input Capacity (Max) | 12 | kW |
| AC Output Configuration | Split-Phase | — |
| MPPT Channels | 3 | count |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
Compatibility & Fitment
- Positive fit: Designed for split-phase AC service applications requiring hybrid solar + battery backup operation.
- Positive fit: Supports 3 independent MPPT solar input channels for multi-string PV arrays.
- Positive fit: Described as scalable for expanding system capacity (specific parallel unit count not provided — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]).
- Negative fit: Battery chemistry compatibility (e.g., LiFePO4, lead-acid) is NOT specified in the source data — do not assume compatibility with any specific battery brand or chemistry without confirming via the Resources tab.
- Negative fit: Closed-loop communication support with specific battery brands is NOT documented in the source data provided.
- Negative fit: DC battery voltage bank compatibility (12V/24V/48V) is NOT specified — do not assume this unit matches your existing battery bank voltage without confirmation.
- Negative fit: Grid sell-back capability is NOT confirmed in the source data.
Compliance & Environment Table
| Category | Detail |
|---|---|
| UL Listings | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in source data |
| IEEE 1547 | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in source data |
| NEC Article Reference | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — confirm applicable Article 690/705 compliance with installer |
| NEMA Enclosure Rating | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in source data |
FAQ
Can this inverter sell power back to the grid?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] Grid sell-back capability is not specified in the manufacturer data provided for this listing.
What battery voltage is required?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] The DC battery voltage input is not specified in the manufacturer data provided for this listing.
Can I parallel multiple units together?
The title data indicates this unit is scalable, but specific parallel/stacking unit limits are not provided in the source data. [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
Is this UL 1741 listed for utility interconnection?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] No UL or IEEE listing information was provided in the manufacturer data for this unit.
Warranty & Registration
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — Manufacturer warranty terms were not included in the data provided for this listing. Refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page for the manufacturer's warranty documentation, or contact us before ordering and we'll help confirm the coverage terms.