The EG4 18kPV is an all-in-one hybrid solar inverter built for home and off-grid systems that need both battery backup and solar charging in one box. It's designed for installers and DIY solar owners who want split-phase output, four MPPT solar inputs, and the option to scale up with additional units.
This is a hybrid solar inverter architecture: it combines solar (PV) charging with battery backup and AC output in a single all-in-one unit, distinct from an off-grid-only inverter or a chargeverter (AC-to-DC charging only). Split-phase AC output is confirmed in the source title. Safety and interconnection listings (UL 1741, IEEE 1547, etc.) are not specified in the manufacturer data provided and are flagged below as [NEEDS VERIFICATION]. Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
Critical Power & Interconnection Requirements
- AC Output: Split-Phase configuration (exact voltage, e.g. 120/240V, not specified in provided data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION])
- Continuous AC Output: 12kW
- PV Input Capacity: 18kW maximum, across 4 MPPT channels
- Architecture: Hybrid (Grid-Tie with battery backup) — NOT an off-grid-only unit as currently specified, and NOT a chargeverter
- Surge/Peak AC output value: not specified in provided data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- DC Battery Voltage (12V/24V/48V): not specified in provided data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- MPPT voltage window: not specified in provided data — [NEEDS VERIFICATION]
- Does NOT include confirmed UL 1741 listing in the data provided — do not assume utility interconnection approval without verifying with the manufacturer's documentation
Parallel-capable hybrid inverters like this one are prone to communication conflicts between units when CAN/RS485 bus wiring is daisy-chained incorrectly or terminated improperly. Before commissioning a multi-unit stack, verify termination resistor placement and check bus continuity with a Digital Multimeter set to continuity/resistance mode — this prevents intermittent parallel-sync fault codes that show up weeks after install, not on day one. Confirm the exact DC battery voltage and MPPT window with EG4/BigBattery documentation before final wiring, since battery voltage is not published on this listing, and mismatched voltage windows are a common cause of failed charging in the field. Document your parallel configuration and battery voltage confirmation in the interconnection paperwork submitted for NEC Article 690 (PV systems) and Article 705 (interconnected power sources) compliance review.
Key Benefits
- 18kW of PV input capacity spread across 4 independent MPPT channels for flexible array design
- 12kW continuous AC output supports split-phase household loads
- Scalable design allows multiple units to be paralleled for larger capacity needs
- Remote Wi-Fi monitoring for system visibility without an on-site laptop connection
- All-in-one hybrid form factor combines inverter, charge controller, and transfer functions in one enclosure
Technical Table
| Spec | Value | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous AC Output | 12 | kW |
| PV Input Capacity (Max) | 18 | kW |
| MPPT Channels | 4 | count |
| AC Output Phase | Split-Phase | — |
| Architecture | Hybrid (Grid-Tie with battery backup) | — |
| Monitoring | Remote Wi-Fi Monitoring | — |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
Compatibility & Fitment
- Positive: Hybrid architecture supports solar (PV) charging plus battery backup plus grid-connected AC output in one unit.
- Positive: Scalable/parallel design allows multiple units to be combined for expanded capacity.
- Positive: Remote Wi-Fi monitoring is supported for this unit.
- Negative: Battery chemistry compatibility (e.g., LiFePO4 vs. Lead-Acid) is NOT specified in the manufacturer data provided — do not assume compatibility without verification.
- Negative: DC battery voltage (12V/24V/48V) is NOT specified in the manufacturer data provided.
- Negative: Closed-loop communication support with specific battery brands is NOT specified in the manufacturer data provided.
- Negative: Grid sell-back capability is NOT confirmed in the manufacturer data provided.
- Negative: Maximum parallel unit count is NOT specified in the manufacturer data provided.
Compliance & Environment
| Category | Detail |
|---|---|
| UL Listings | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in provided data |
| IEEE 1547 | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in provided data |
| NEMA Enclosure Rating | [NEEDS VERIFICATION] — not specified in provided data |
| NEC Code References | Refer to NEC Article 690 (Solar PV) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Sources) during installation; confirm applicability with local AHJ |
FAQ
Can this inverter sell power back to the grid?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — grid sell-back capability is not specified in the manufacturer data provided for this listing.
What battery voltage is required?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — DC battery voltage is not specified in the manufacturer data provided for this listing.
Can I parallel multiple units together?
Yes. The EG4 18kPV is described as scalable, indicating parallel/stacking capability. Exact unit-count limits are not specified in the manufacturer data provided; confirm with BigBattery before designing a multi-unit system.
Is this UL 1741 listed for utility interconnection?
[NEEDS VERIFICATION] — no UL 1741 or other safety listing is specified in the manufacturer data provided for this listing.
Does this unit include Wi-Fi monitoring?
Yes. The unit is listed with remote Wi-Fi monitoring capability.
Warranty & Registration
Manufacturer warranty terms are not specified in the data provided for this listing. Refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page for the manufacturer's warranty document, or reach out to BigBattery directly to confirm coverage terms and registration steps before purchase. We always reply back if you have questions before you order.