The Sol-Ark 15K-2P is a whole-home hybrid inverter that manages solar input, battery storage, and grid or generator power from one box. It's built for homeowners and installers who need backup power for a full house, not just a few circuits.
The Sol-Ark 15K-2P is a hybrid inverter: it operates grid-tied with battery backup, supports both AC-coupled and DC-coupled solar, and can also run in off-grid backup mode. The datasheet cites multiple UL 9540 certifications at the system level (inverter paired with a certified battery), plus NEC references for PV DC disconnect (NEC 240.15) and PV arc fault detection (NEC 690.11). Note: If you would like to review the manufacturer Product Specifications, Warranty, Brochure, etc., for this system, please refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page.
Critical Power & Interconnection Requirements
- AC Output: 120/240V and 120/208V split-phase, 50/60 Hz.
- Battery DC Input: 48V nominal, compatible with lead-acid and lithium technologies.
- Continuous AC Output (240V): 13,000 W. This is the sustained load rating, not the surge rating.
- Surge Output (240V): 24,000 W for 10 seconds; 15,000 W for 30 minutes. Do not size continuous loads against these surge numbers.
- MPPT Operating Voltage Range: 150 - 425 VDC across 3 MPPT inputs, max usable combined MPPT PV power of 19,500 W (23,400 W max STC PV array rating).
- Grid passthrough rated at 200 A, intended to help avoid a main service panel upgrade.
- Backup transfer time: 5 ms.
- NOT rated for 24V or 12V battery banks - 48V DC input only.
- Surge ratings are time-limited (10 s / 30 min) and are NOT continuous output claims.
On split-phase 120/240V hybrid inverters like the 15K-2P, a common friction point is neutral-ground bonding when the unit shifts between grid-connected and backup (islanded) modes - get this wrong and you'll trip nuisance GFCI faults or fail an AHJ inspection. Verify the inverter's internal transfer switch opens the neutral properly during backup operation so you don't create a second neutral-ground bond downstream of the utility's main bond. Confirm this with a digital multimeter checking for continuity between neutral and ground busbars in both grid-tied and backup states before energizing loads. Document your bonding configuration against NEC 690 (PV systems) and NEC 706 (energy storage systems) so the inspection has a clear paper trail - this is one of the most common reasons whole-home ESS installs get red-tagged on first inspection.
Key Benefits
- 13,000 W continuous output at 240V is enough to run central air conditioning, well pumps, and other motor-driven loads without derating on startup, thanks to the 24,000 W 10-second surge rating.
- 5 ms transfer time keeps sensitive electronics running through a grid outage without a noticeable interruption.
- Three independent MPPT inputs and support for both AC- and DC-coupled solar simplify retrofit installs on existing PV systems.
- 200 A grid passthrough is sized to avoid a costly main panel upgrade on many residential services.
- CEC efficiency rating of 97.5% reduces conversion losses between PV, battery, and load.
- Multifunction GEN port supports generator integration and AC-coupled PV alongside the main inverter functions.
| Spec | Value | Unit |
|---|---|---|
| Model | 15K-2P-LV | - |
| Max STC Rated PV Power | 23,400 | W |
| Max Usable Combined MPPT PV Power | 19,500 | W |
| MPPT Rated Operating Voltage Range | 150 - 425 | V |
| Number of MPPT Inputs | 3 | strings |
| Nominal DC Battery Voltage | 48 | V |
| Max. Charge / Discharge Current | 275 / 275 | A |
| AC Output Voltage (L-N/L-L) | 120/240, 120/208 | V |
| Rated Frequency | 50 / 60 | Hz |
| Continuous Power (240V) | 13,000 | W |
| Peak Surge Power, 10s (240V) | 24,000 | W |
| Peak Surge Power, 30min (240V) | 15,000 | W |
| Backup Transfer Time | 120 max / 5 typical | ms |
| Max. Passthrough Current (Grid to Load) | 200 | A |
| Max. Generator Power (240V) | 19,200 | W |
| CEC Efficiency | 97.5 | % |
| THDv | 1.5 | % |
| Power Factor Adjustment Range | +/- 0.9 | - |
| Dimensions (H x W x D) | 838 x 494 x 306 | mm |
Note: See "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above for full specifications.
Compatibility & Fitment
- Compatible with 48V lead-acid and lithium battery banks, per the manufacturer's compatible technology listing.
- BMS communication supported via CANbus / RS485 / MODBUS RTU for closed-loop battery integration.
- Supports both AC-coupled and DC-coupled solar PV, suited to new installs and retrofit projects.
- Parallel RJ45 ports are present for stacking multiple inverter units [NEEDS VERIFICATION: maximum stackable unit count not provided in source data].
- NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks - 48V DC input only.
- NOT a standalone off-grid-only device - it is a hybrid unit designed for grid interconnection with NEM grid-sell capability.
- Wi-Fi/Bluetooth/4G/Ethernet monitoring dongle is referenced in the component diagram; confirm inclusion with your sales representative before ordering [NEEDS VERIFICATION].
| Category | Detail |
|---|---|
| UL Listings | Multiple UL 9540 certifications (system-level, inverter + battery combination) |
| NEC Code References | NEC 240.15 (PV DC Disconnect Switch), NEC 690.11 (PV Arc Fault Detection) |
| Safety Certification | [NEEDS VERIFICATION - specific safety cert line item not fully legible in source data] |
| Interconnection Compliance | [NEEDS VERIFICATION - listing values not fully legible in source data] |
| EMC Listings | [NEEDS VERIFICATION - listing values not fully legible in source data] |
| Operating Humidity | Non-condensing (exact % range not specified in source data) |
FAQ
Can this inverter sell power back to the grid?
Yes. The Sol-Ark 15K-2P supports Net Energy Metering (NEM) grid sell, according to the manufacturer specification sheet.
What battery voltage is required?
This inverter is built for a 48V DC battery bank. It is NOT compatible with 12V or 24V battery banks.
Can I parallel multiple units together?
The unit includes parallel RJ45 communication ports for stacking multiple inverters. [NEEDS VERIFICATION: maximum parallel unit count not stated in source data.]
Is this UL 9540 listed for utility interconnection?
The manufacturer lists multiple UL 9540 certifications at the system level (inverter plus battery, tested together). UL 9540 does not apply to the inverter as a standalone component. Refer to the interconnection compliance listings in the datasheet for utility approval standards.
What battery chemistries does it support?
The compatible technology list includes lead-acid and lithium battery types, per the manufacturer datasheet.
Warranty & Registration
Warranty term length and registration procedure are not specified in the provided manufacturer data. [NEEDS VERIFICATION: refer to the "Resources (System Manuals and Warranty)" Tab above on this page for full manufacturer warranty terms.]